HomeBook Lists12 Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

12 Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

We added affiliate Amazon links for the books on this list. If you like a book and decide to buy it via our link — we will earn a commission (at no cost to you). This way, Booklyst grows with your help 🙂 Thanks!

Readers are looking for more books like “Verity” after this psychological thriller and mystery novel has gained so much popularity and attention.

“Verity” is a book of #1 New York Times bestseller Colleen Hoover. It has continued to gain popularity since it was first published in 2018.

The book itself is a mix of psychological thriller, mystery, and romance. It is filled with plenty of bone-chilling moments that provide readers with an out-of-body experience.

The story revolves around struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh. She receives a job offer of her dream from Jeremy Crawford. Jeremy is the husband of infamous author Verity Crawford.

Verity cannot finish her novels due to health reasons and this is why they hire Lowen. As soon as Lowen starts working, she finds the secret autobiography of the incapacitated writer which is filled with twists and turns.

The spine-tingling admissions by Verity in her book is the perfect hook that ends up keeping readers on their toes throughout the story.

If you want a more in-depth review of the intricacies of “Verity” and how it succeeds in captivating its audience, then you can also read our Verity book review on it.

And this article is for those who’ve already read and loved the book.

Do you want more books like “Verity”?

Then you’ve come to the right place.

12 Books Like Verity

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Books Like Verity

“The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” offers the same type of drama and intrigue. This is a great choice if you are looking for the best mystery books.

The story starts when the aging and reclusive Hollywood icon Evelyn Hugo approaches troubled magazine reporter Monique Grant to write her glamorous and scandalous biography.

As the actress and reporter meet, Monique is genuinely surprised by the stories Evelyn has to tell. The more time the duo spends together discussing Evelyn’s stories, the stronger their bond becomes.

However, as Monique nears the conclusion of the story, some dark and tragic secrets start unfolding.

Another question is — why did Evelyn pick Monique, who herself has been going through a tough separation with her husband in addition to a failing professional life?

If you want to read a tale filled with scandals and deep dark secrets, this is the book for you.

Check Amazon price here.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

best mystery books: The Girl on The Train

“The Girl on the Train” won the award for best mystery/thriller book in the 2015 Goodreads choice awards.

The story follows Rachel, a train commuter who takes the same train each day. She’s been taking the train for so long that she’s even memorized all the houses she sees during her journey.

She especially admires a couple she’s affectionately named “Jess and Jason” who live in one of the houses.

Rachel believes their life is perfect and longs to meet them. One fine morning an opportunity is presented to Rachel when she sees something shocking.

Provided the perfect opportunity to meet them by what she just saw, this is Rachel’s chance to show them that she’s more than just the girl on the train.

In this story, Rachel uncovers the secret to their seemingly perfect life and realizes the true meaning of the phrase “things are not always what they seem.”

Check Amazon price here.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

The Silent Patient Book

The other book like “Verity” we would like to recommend is “The Silent Patient” by Alex Michaelides.

Apart from being a Goodreads choice award in 2019, the book is widely hailed as one of the best psychological thrillers.

All seems well with world-famous painter Alicia Berenson and her husband who himself is an in-demand fashion photographer.

But one-day tragedy strikes. Upon returning home late from a fashion shoot, Alicia greets her husband with five gunshots to the face. After this, she never speaks a word.

Alicia’s refusal to talk turns into a front-page story that mystifies the public and increases their curiosity.

Alicia is hidden away at the grove, a forensic unit in North London where she is questioned by Theo Faber, a criminal psychotherapist in search of the truth.

However, the truth may be more than he bargained for. It really is a thrilling read from start to finish filled with murder and betrayal.

Check Amazon price here.

Check more books similar to “The Silent Patient”.

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone - Book by Lisa Jewell

This book is for those who enjoy family dramas and mysterious kidnapping stories.

The plot follows the kidnapping of 15-year old Ellie. Ellie was taken from her mother Laurel ten years ago.

Time has passed and Laurel has almost learned to live with her loss. But one day she meets the 9-year old daughter of her new partner. The most terrifying thing is that this girl has a striking resemblance to her long-lost daughter.

These circumstances have caused all the unanswered questions to come flooding back and left her in a state of turmoil.

Filled with a burning desire to answer these questions, Laurel restarts the search for her daughter once again. This time, she finds out who still has secrets to hide.

It’s a great story filled with secrets and clues that all lead back to that fateful kidnapping.

This is definitely one of the books to read if you like “Verity”.

Overall, it’s a great tale filled with secrets and clues that all lead back to that fateful kidnapping.

Check Amazon price here.

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

Behind Closed Doors by B.A.Paris

“Behind Closed Doors” is an enigmatic psychological thriller based on domestic life.

The award-winning author B. A Paris has penned down a gripping story of a couple named Jack and Grace.

At first glance they look like the happiest couple there is

He is a determined lawyer who’s never lost a case. She is a masterful cook and skilled gardener.

You may try your hardest to dislike them because of their “too sweet” nature. But you just can’t help but be in awe of the comfort of their home and their cozy dinner parties.

As you get to know them better, you notice there is something off about their relationship. Many neighbors want to become friends with Grace but it’s proving to be difficult.

Grace never comes out for coffee, doesn’t answer the phone, never takes anything with her when she leaves the house. There are even bars on their downstairs windows.

What really happens once the lights go out and the front door closes?

The mysterious riveting story of this strange but cheerful couple is intriguing to say the least.

See the price on Amazon here.

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us

“The Wife Between Us” is all about jealousy, betrayal, and replacement, or so you would think!

Written by Goodreads authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, the book exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage and the things we overlook in the name of love.

You might think the story is about a jealous ex-wife, who envies the relationship between her former husband and a younger, more beautiful woman who is about to marry him.

But there is more than that.

Forget all you know because in order to understand this story you need to learn to read between the lies.

Check Amazon price for this book here.

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Wendy Walked writes a story of a dysfunctional family where two sisters return home three years after they have been kidnapped.

Cass, one of the sisters, tells the story of what really happened when she and her older sister Emma were kidnapped.

Apart from the kidnapping and betrayal, Cass tells a story of being taken to a mysterious island, where they were held for more than two years.

However, forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter is suspicious of the entire story and feels like Cass is hiding something.

As a result, Dr. Abby starts looking deeper within this family. But what she finds makes her believe that the girls coming back was just the beginning of the crime!

Here is the link to the book on Amazon.

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Up next we have another romantic and psychological thriller that contains more relationship drama.

Sarah Pinborough has expertly navigated the challenges of writing a romantic novel by introducing her own unique style of storytelling.

The story revolves around Louise, a single mom, and secretary who is meeting with a mysterious man at the bar. Regularly, he gives her a kiss and leaves. That’s all about their mysterious relationship.

One morning, Louise comes to work and realizes that her new boss, David, is actually the man from the bar.

Things become even more different when she meets his wife Adele, whom she befriends.

But that’s not even the main plot point of the book as Louise soon realizes that David and Adele’s relationship is far from perfect and learns to what extent a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

All in all, it is an exceptional read that deserves more praise than it gets.

Check Amazon price here.

The Dry by Jane Harper

The Dry by Jane Harper

“The Dry” keeps hitting the lists of the most popular mystery and psychological thrillers.

The book itself has won various international awards and has sold more than one million copies worldwide.

What differentiates it from the other books on the list is the dark and creepy nature of the story.

The story is set in the small farming town of Australia named Kiewarra. While the placement is suffering from the worst drought in history, a terrible murder happens. The whole family of the Hadler is brutally killed.

A federal police investigator Aaron Falk is the only one who can reluctantly solve this mystery.

But this mystery contains secrets, twists, and betrayals that will change Aaron forever as well.

Here is the link to the book on Amazon.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

best psychological thrillers - Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

“Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier is considered a classic these days. This is a gothic psychological thriller that revolves around the story of a young heroine who happily marries a rich widower.

Maxim de Winter suddenly proposes to marry the main heroine when they meet in Monte Carlo. She can’t believe her happiness but everything changes when they arrive at Maxim’s mansion.

Turns out that everyone in this house, including the house itself, seems to be remembering and living under Rebecca’s shadow.

Rebecca, a femme fatale, died under mysterious circumstances. But even being dead, she still has full power over the mansion and the way life is organized there.

One decision of the main heroine changes everything — and the story starts to uncover its dark and dirty secrets. Including the secret of Rebecca’s death.

This is one of the best mystery novels and we highly recommend reading it if you are looking for great books like “Verity”.

Check the book price on Amazon here.

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

The Woman in White Wilkie Collins

“The Woman in White” needs no introduction as it may be the most famous book on this list.

The book itself is still fondly remembered as one of the best mystery thrillers of all time.

Hundred years after the book was first published passed, yet it has maintained its legacy as the sleuthing techniques the protagonist detective Hartwright used have been implemented by later real-life private detectives as well.

It is an absolutely gripping tale filled with gothic horror and psychological realism that’ll have you feeling tenser than you ever have.

See this book on Amazon.

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

The last on the list is the dark, torturing but addictive story of coma patient Amber Reynolds written by famous British Novelist Alice Feeney.

The book was increasingly successful among a wide variety of audiences which has resulted in a BBC TV series being created by the same name, based on the book.

The opening lines of the book itself will rock to your very core and set the tone early for what the rest of the book is going to be like:

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:
1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

What follows is an amalgamation of mystery, betrayal, and flashbacks from 20 years ago.
Amber is paralyzed. She can’t move, can’t open her eyes, and can’t speak. But she can hear everything.

In this condition, she starts contemplating on her life and trying to figure out what really happened to her and what does her husband has to do with that?

Check the current price for the book here.

We hope our list of books like “Verity” will help you find a great book to read. And if you have a suggestion for the list — don’t hesitate to share it with us in the comments.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Also Read

If you happen to find yourself reading this article, you must enjoy Hyperion by Dan Simmons, a classic science fiction novel published in 1989 dealing with multiple characters from different timelines. Its structure is often described as similar to the 14th century The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer. This is a fairly decent reason to get acquainted with it, even if you're not much into sci-fi as a genre. So if you have finished Hyperion and now search for something like this, this article is for you.
You never know what awaits you there when you start unraveling the tangle that drags you into the mist of the Forest of Dean, with its lingering scent and crackling, closer to the mullioned windows of the old manor…

Popular Posts