HomeBook Lists19 Books Like The Silent Patient

19 Books Like The Silent Patient

We added affiliate Amazon links for the books on this list. If you like a book and decide to buy it via our link — we will earn a commission (at no cost to you). This way, Booklyst grows with your help 🙂 Thanks!

Looking for books like “The Silent Patient”?

You’ve come to the right place.

“The Silent Patient” is a psychological thriller written by Alex Michaelidis. It was released in February 2019 and has received 4.12 stars on Goodreads.

The book tells the story of a painter named Alice Berenson, married to Gabriel — a famous photographer. One evening, Gabriel is shot five times in the face by Alice, who never speaks another word after the murder.
Her refusal to talk made the story move from domestic violence to grand murder in no time.

The story is mysterious, and it attracts public attention, including that of criminal psychologist Theo Faber who is hell-bent on discovering what happened that night.

“The Silent Patient” is an exciting book that causes a stir of emotions for the reader. And we did our best and made a list of more books like “The Silent Patient” — enjoy!

Books like “The Silent Patient” by Alex Michaelidis

The Widow, Fiona Barton

the widow, fiona barton
A child named Bella is murdered, and Glen, Jean’s husband, is suspected. Jean plays the dutiful wife, helping her husband stay silent on some issues. She isn’t like everyone else — she doesn’t think Glen did it — Jean knows he did.

Jean had known he was troubled for years, but he was her husband, her porn-addicted husband.

However, Jean decides to speak up. She doesn’t have to pretend nothing happened anymore.

Many are interested to hear her story, but no one knows Glen wasn’t the only one with dark and disturbing secrets.

Here is the link to this book on Amazon if you want to read it

Verity, Colleen Hoover

Verity, Colleen Hoover
Lowen Ashleigh needs a career breakthrough and lots of money, so when the offer from Jeremy Crawford comes, she accepts it.

She is to finish the remaining books in a best-selling series his injured wife Verity couldn’t. Lowen arrives at their home ready to begin her work.

But she stumbles on an unfinished autobiography that contains some dark secrets, including what Verity remembers from the night of her daughter’s death.

Lowen knows she shouldn’t show the autobiography to Jeremy, but her feelings sway her.

Here is a detailed review of “Verity”.

Interested in reading “Verity”? Check the price on Amazon

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
Nick’s and Amy’s marriage was never perfect, but they made it work. On their fifth anniversary, Nick takes Amy to a rented McMansion on the Mississippi River.

He has a lot planned for this anniversary but not a murder. Beautiful Amy disappears, and Nick can’t explain what happened. Her parents and the police are out for him.

He reads her diary and finds that his wife was more than he thought. Still, he must prove himself innocent — if he is innocent. Here is an amazing review of “Gone Girl” in The New Yorker.

This book on Amazon

Night Film, Marisha Pessl

night film marisha pessl
Stanislaus Cordova is a film director who hasn’t shown up in public for thirty years.

Now his daughter, Ashley, is dead. The police think she has committed suicide. But Scott McGrath doesn’t think so. Scott knows that the Cordova family has been tied to many dark secrets.

He is determined to find the hidden truth, once again — yet everything is at stake this time.

Check price on Amazon

My Lovely Wife, Samantha Downing

my lovely wife, samantha downing
Two people met and fell in love. They got married, had kids, and had great careers. They know each other in and out.
A once exciting marriage is now boring because all has been said and done.

But finally, something extraordinary happens in their fifteenth year of marriage, something sinister. The union is no longer boring, and it has gotten too eventful — it is hiding murder!

Buy this book from Amazon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Mark Haddon

the curious incident of the dog in the night time
This book is described as “hilarious and heartbreaking” by The Guardian.

Christopher John Francis Boone is a 15-year-old boy who describes himself as “a mathematician with some behavioral difficulties” living in Swindon, Wiltshire.

He does not understand human emotions but relates well to animals. So when a neighborhood dog is found dead, Christopher is determined to find the killer.

This mystery leads him down an unexpected path, and the actual killer is closer than he thought.

If you liked the “Silent Patient,” this book should be your choice — it has more than 1 million reviews on Goodreads, and many readers highly recommend it.

Link to the book on Amazon

We Have Always Lived in the Castle, Shirley Jackson

books like the silent patient - we have always lived in the castle
This book is sinister, bizarre, strange, and even disturbing. You will either love or hate it. Some call it a masterpiece, while others can’t even finish it.

We know for sure — this should be on your TBR list if you liked “The Silent Patient.”

Mary Katherine Blackwood is the only Blackwood who didn’t eat on the poisoning night. She is the lucky one and now the new burdened one.

She is eighteen years old and lives with her sister Constance. No one knows who poisoned the Blackwood or why.

There is no shortage of questions as the village hates them for their wealth and superiority. Uncle Julian survived that night too, but with a crippled body and mind.

Constance was the cook that night — does it mean she might be the murderer?

Check price

Sometimes I Lie, Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
Amber Reynolds awakens in a hospital paralyzed with no memory of how she got there. She can’t move, speak or see, but she hadn’t lost her sense of hearing.

Amber suspects her husband, who doesn’t love her anymore, is somehow involved in the cause of her predicament.

Her childhood diary reveals more than expected, and more lies are said to create truths.

This book is also on another list from Bookslyst.

I want to read this book

Shutter Island, Dennis Lehane

shutter island - book if you liked the silent patient
U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels and his new partner, Chuck Aule, have a new case.

They are to investigate the disappearance of Rachel Solando, a murderer who was a patient in Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane.

Rachel was under close surveillance, and she was locked up, but she still managed to get out somehow.

Shutter Island is not safe, not from the hurricane that comes or from the murderer on the loose.

No one is safe, and nothing is as it seems, not Teddy, not Ashecliffe, and indeed not the island.

Check Amazon price

Keep reading to discover more amazing books like “The Silent Patient”.

Woman In Cabin 10, Ruth Ware

woman in cabin 10
There are more books like “The Silent Patient,” and we have one more great book on the list.

Lo Blacklock is a talented journalist who writes for a travel magazine. She gets a dream assignment to go on a luxury cruise for a week. Everything about the Aurora, the cruise ship, is beautiful, and Lo loves it!

The water, the sky, the guests, the food, and the drinks are too good to be true. But Lo’s luxury fun trip becomes a nightmare when a woman is thrown overboard.

It is as though she alone saw the event because the ship goes on.

Lo tries to talk about what she’s seen, but no passenger is missing. Hence no passenger cares.

See the price for this book

Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk

Fight club, chuck palahniuk
Chuck Palahniuk’s “Fight Club” has a different style from “The Silent Patient,” but both books have something in common — a dark secret revealed at the book’s end.

The after-hours is always eventful for the boxing club. Tyler Durden is the brain behind the secret late-night matches in the basement. There, two men fight till they can not.

But so much more is hidden behind the boxing club, and we, readers, are about to discover a secret that may shatter us to pieces.

Get this book

Books like “The Silent Patient” from the same author — The Maidens

books similar to the silent patient - the maidens
Cambridge University is home to many people and, in turn, their secrets.

Edward Fosca, a professor of Greek tragedy, teaches here. He is a murderer, and Mariana is confident of that.

But it is her story against his. She knows it would be futile going after a man loved by the staff and students. But Zoe is dead, and Mariana wants justice.

The Maidens is a secret society of female students who love the professor. So when a second body is found, Mariana does not know what to believe.

But she is stubborn and determined. She may lose her credibility in society, but she wouldn’t stop till Fosca is caught.

Check price for this book

The Woman In The Window, A. J. Finn

the woman in the window - A.J. Finn
Anna Fox is single and living alone in her New York City home. She is not living her best life, so she spends her day drinking and wallowing in memories of happier times.

She spies on her neighbors — something she would regret. One day, the Russells, a family of three, move in across from Anna and give her a new family to spy on.

Soon she sees something she shouldn’t, and her world comes crashing down. There are more secrets to uncover, and Anna is stuck differentiating reality from imagination.

Here is the link to the book on Amazon

The Girl On The Train, Paula Hawkins

books like the silent patient: The Girl On the Train
Rachel is the girl on the train, every day at the same time.

She has been watching the happy couple who live in one of the houses. Rachel nicknames them “Jess and Jason” and wants their lives.

One day, she sees something shocking.

It only took a minute for Rachel to know that she could be a part of the couple’s lives. As the train moves on that day, she knows everything has changed.

Now she could be more than the girl on the train.

Check the Amazon price

Before I Go To Sleep, S. J. Watson

before I go to sleep - S.J.Watson
Christine wakes up every morning and sees two strangers — her husband and herself.

She, a forty-seven-year-old woman, struggles with remembering who she was and how she got to where she was. A terrible accident that happened twenty years ago robbed her of the ability to form new memories.

Now, her husband, Ben, explains to Christine that he’s her husband every morning. Unable to recognize the woman in the mirror and the husband in her bed, Christine tries to piece her past together.

The closer she gets, the more unbelievable it seems, and she must reconstruct her life story before bedtime.

Buy this book

A Head Full Of Ghosts, Paul Tremblay

a head full of ghosts - books if you liked the silent patient
Another book recommendation for what to read after “The Silent Patient” is “A Head Full of Ghosts” — a mind-bending psychological thriller.

Evil finds the Barretts, an ordinary New England family, in the cruelest way possible — sweet fourteen-year-old Marjorie is diagnosed with acute schizophrenia.

The doctors do all they can, but they can’t help. Marjorie descends into madness, bringing more enormous bills and sadder tears to her family. Her parents turn to a Catholic priest for help.

Father Wanderly is sure it is demonic possession, so he suggests exorcism. He invites a production company, looking for the next big thing to document the lives of the Barretts.

Marjorie’s father, John, is drowning in bills, so they agree. The show witnessed an explosion of tragedy, and the story becomes an urban legend.

Fifteen years later, Merry, Marjorie’s sister, is being interviewed.

Long-buried secrets are dug up, unsettling questions are asked, and Merry has to recollect what happened all those years ago.

And evil, which takes so many forms, becomes to surface.

This book on Amazon

The Kind Worth Killing, Peter Swanson

the kind worth killing by Peter Swanson
One drink leads to another, and Ted Severson finds himself talking to Lilly Kinter, a stranger, about his marital issues.

Ted wishes his marriage was as fun as it used to be. Being married to an artistic free spirit had its perks, but everything has gone stale.

Ted swears he could kill Miranda, his wife, who he sure is cheating. Lilly offers to help, and the drama begins.

The bond between them grows more robust and darker with time, and the two plot the demise of Miranda.

But Miranda isn’t an easy target; she too is experienced in the art and craft of murder, something she had picked up from her youth. The three chase themselves with a stubborn detective on their trail.

“The Kind Worth Killing” on Amazon

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, Agatha Cristie

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
This recommendation might surprise you on the list of books like “The Silent Patient.”

However, “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” is one of the most controversial stories of Agatha Cristie, and it has something in common with Alex Michaelidis’ book.

What exactly is that? It’s for you to find out.

The widow Ferrars and Roger Ackroyd are to be wed, but something mysterious happens that shocks the whole village of King’s Abbot.

Now everyone mourns the loss of Ferrars, who dies from an overdose of veronal.

Twenty-four hours later, Roger Ackroyd is found dead. There is something sinister about the whole thing.

Hercule Poirot must find out before he reaches one of the most baffling conclusions of his career.

See the price on Amazon

The Guest List, Lucy Foley

The Guest List - Lucy Foley
It is the wedding the magazines and tabloids want. It must be perfect, so plans are made, and a guest list is drawn.

The couple doesn’t want anything to go wrong, primarily since people have gathered on an island with little cell reception to witness their union.

As the drinks go-round, the mood changes, and resentments and envies are mixed with the champagne and cake. The bridesmaid ruins the wedding dress, the groomsmen are up to no good, the old friend says something he shouldn’t, and a body is found.

The perfect wedding crashes down, and the couple realizes they aren’t wished well. Why is the question on their lips — and the answer is for us to find out.

Buy “The Guest List” from Amazon

All these books are psychological thrillers that leave the reader feeling many things. These books are also good choices for book reading communities and they have been rated well. We encourage you not to stop at one book and let your journey of criminal thrillers continue. It would sure be fun with this list of books like “The Silent Patient”.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Also Read

Popular Posts