HomeBook ListsBooks Like The Selection— 13 Absorbing Reads If You...

Books Like The Selection— 13 Absorbing Reads If You Liked Kiera Cass

We added affiliate Amazon links for the books on this list. If you like a book and decide to buy it via our link — we will earn a commission (at no cost to you). This way, Booklyst grows with your help 🙂 Thanks!

If you landed on this article, most probably you are still under the impression after “The Selection” by Kiera Cass and now looking for more books like “The Selection”.

It is quite an extraordinary book as it leaves you wanting more. It creates an insatiable hunger for more dystopic fantasy novels.

It is very intriguing, mainly because of the whole competition aspect and how the Rebels are never sure when they’re going to win or lose.

“The Selection” is rated four stars on Goodreads. This rating feels like an understatement since the book is so much better. Besides that, “The Selection” won the 2017 Young Hoosier Book Award.

If you are wondering how many books are in “The Selection” series, there are four books in the series so far. All of which are great books. There are also a few short stories, but they aren’t in the series.

Apart from The Selection, Kiera Cass has written some other great books, including “The Heir”, “The Elite”, “The Siren”, and “The One”. All these books share a common theme, they are all set in a fictional society, and all have the same genre.

Books To Read If You Liked “The Selection”

If you are wondering what to read after the Selection, you should consider these books:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Books like the selection
“Red Queen” is quite similar to “The Selection” in many ways.

The book is about a girl called Mare who lives in a very strict society where people have different abilities.

This society is called “The caste system,” and the plot revolves around a forbidden love between a Red and a Silver.

Like The Selection, this book is dystopian with a lot of action. The plot is also quite thrilling to read.

Get yourself a copy of Red Queen from Amazon or order it from your local book store.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

“A Court of Thorns and Roses” is a book that, in my opinion, is better than “The Selection”. The author has taken the idea of “The Selection” and made it into a proper series.

The series is called the ACOTAR, and it’s about four girls.

The central theme of the series is love. And what better place to love than a society ruled by an immortal queen with many different queens living all around her?

Over the years, this book has gained a cult-like following for its amazing tales of impossible love stories.

Buy on Amazon

Cinder by Melissa Meyer

Cinder

“Cinder” is a classic book that’s quite similar to “The Selection”. It shares the same genre and takes place in a world ruled by a set of rules and people who don’t live like everyone else.

The book is about a girl called Cinder who lives in a world of New Beijing.

She goes through many struggles throughout her life, but in the end, she finds love, just like any other girl would want to do.

Get the book here to immerse yourself in another exciting book.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval
“Caraval” is a YA book series that takes place in the world of Caraval and follows two sisters who are invited to this magical world.

“Caraval” is a fantasy book series with a bit of romance and interesting plot twists. It’s very unpredictable, and it’ll have you on the edge of your seat until the end.

If you like books similar to “The Selection”, you should read this masterpiece.

Get your copy of “Caraval” today from Amazon and experience their world of fantasy.

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Books to read if you liked the selection
“The Cruel Prince” is one of the best books to read if you like “The Selection”.

The blogger girl who wrote this book describes a world just like “The Selection” but not in the same way because it focuses on one specific girl.

In the plot, she learns that pretty much everything she believed was wrong after the death of her mother.

The plot is fast-paced and quite enjoyable to read. Visit your local book store and get your copy of “The Cruel Prince” today.

Check its price here.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze runner

“The Maze Runner” is one of the best books similar to “The Selection”.

In this book, Thomas is shocked when he learns that the world is not what it looks like.

He was in a coma for many years, and when he woke up, he was surrounded by boys with no memory of who they were or even where they came from.

Initially, Thomas and others try to find out what’s going on, but mutiny ensues in the end.

Get your copy of “The Maze Runner” today and find out what’s happening in the mysterious maze.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me

This book follows a unique writing style and can be something you either love or hate.

It’s about a girl who has the power to kill people with her touch. She has been in captivity her whole life because the government wants to use her for their gain.

In the end, after she finds the love of her life, she has to fight for her freedom. Like “The Selection” Kiera Cass series, the main theme of this book is love.

This book is quite good and not just because of the love story. It’s also quite fast-paced and action-packed.

You can find your copy of “Shatter Me” today on Amazon at an affordable price.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

 The Lightning Thief

“The Lightning Thief” is a good read for people of all ages. This book is about a boy called Percy Jackson.

In the book, Percy learns that he was born to save Olympus. It’s a world with Gods and Goddesses, and this is where Percy comes into play.

He needs to go on a quest to save his father, Zeus, who Hades took down. The book is quite long, but it’s worth all the pages. Just like The Selection, this book is worth reading.

Get a copy of the book from Amazon and experience the universe of Percy Jackson.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To All the Boys I've Loved

This book is another great sequel to “The Selection”.

This novel is a good example of love and betrayal as it revolves around Lara Jean, a young girl with an innocent crush on her sister’s boyfriend.

It is a romance novel in a fictional society with strict rules and the love story between Lara and the two boys she loved.

In this book, much like “The Selection”, Lara Jean finds herself in a situation where she has to decide who she wants to be with.

Get your copy of “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” from Amazon and discover what happens next.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

books similar to the selection
Another author’s bestseller after “Verity”. “It Ends with us” is one of the greatest books like the selection series. In this book, the love story between two young people is not perfect.

The plot is about a girl who used to love someone but let him go because she thought he would find himself in a better place.

It turns out he found himself in a relationship with another girl, and he lost his memory of the past.

Get your copy of the book on Amazon, and be ready for a love story you won’t forget soon.

Crier’s Wars by Nina Varela

Crier's Wars
“Crier’s War” takes place in a similar society as “The Selection”.

It is a YA book, and it features the same kind of romance you’d expect from a dystopian novel.

The setting is a distant future where Automae has overthrown their human makers and rule over all humans.

The main characters are two best friends who have to face many challenges and fights while trying to survive in a dangerous world ruled by an immortal queen. The book also has a few sequels.

Get your copy of “Criers War” from Amazon and enjoy the enchanting story of two kids trying to save the world.

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Books Like The Selection - Daughter of the Pirate King
“Daughter of the Pirate King” is a book series similar to “The Selection”.

It is an adventure-filled dystopian YA novel. It’s a bit like The Selection with a twist.

The plot is about a girl who has the power to commune with demons.

This power brings her many different challenges in her life, and in the end, she needs to find out who she really is.

The story is quite fast-paced and enjoyable to read. Visit Amazon and get your copy of “Daughter of the Pirate King” today.

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Inheritance Games
“The Inheritance Games” is one of the best books similar to the after series. It is a YA book series, and it takes place in a world with people who have extraordinary gifts.

The story’s main plot centers on Katniss Everdeen and her love interest Peeta Mellark as they enter the different games happening in Panem.

Like “The Selection”, the main theme of the book is love. The book has many sequels, so you can keep enjoying the adventure for quite a while.

You can get your copy of the book on Amazon and let yourself be enchanted by the world of Panem.

All of these books share the same genre and have a lot in common with Kiera Cass’ famous novel. If you like romance and dystopian novels, you should definitely read these books.

We hope you like our list of books like “The Selection”.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Also Read

If you happen to find yourself reading this article, you must enjoy Hyperion by Dan Simmons, a classic science fiction novel published in 1989 dealing with multiple characters from different timelines. Its structure is often described as similar to the 14th century The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer. This is a fairly decent reason to get acquainted with it, even if you're not much into sci-fi as a genre. So if you have finished Hyperion and now search for something like this, this article is for you.
You never know what awaits you there when you start unraveling the tangle that drags you into the mist of the Forest of Dean, with its lingering scent and crackling, closer to the mullioned windows of the old manor…

Popular Posts