HomeBook ListsBooks like Circe: Ten books to choose from

Books like Circe: Ten books to choose from

We added affiliate Amazon links for the books on this list. If you like a book and decide to buy it via our link — we will earn a commission (at no cost to you). This way, Booklyst grows with your help 🙂 Thanks!

Books like Circe: Ten books to choose from:

Read on if you’d like to know more about each book and other Madeline Miller books. 

Looking for more books like Circe? Can’t find anything as satisfying as this book after reading it? 

You are not the only one. 

And you’ve come to the right place, my friend. 

Madeline Miller’s Circe is a widely acclaimed book that adapts classical myths for modern readers. The story retells the life of the eponymous Circe, a famed witch from the Odyssey, and presents her with a fresh perspective. Miller’s writing breathes new life into an ancient tale and offers readers a captivating experience.

Circe is a unique and captivating contribution to the genre of myths and legends, attracting many readers. 

Are there other books that explore ancient myths with freshness and excitement? 

Madeline Miller and her books

Madeline Miller is a well-known author and classicist from America. She is most notably recognized for her exceptional novels, which reimagine ancient Greek myths. Her debut novel, The Song of Achilles, gained immense popularity and recognition, winning the Orange Prize for Fiction.

The next book by Madeline Miller, Circe, tells a variation of the personal story of the famous sorcerer. 

The Song of Achilles — read this book if you liked Circe

madeline miller books

First of all, that’s one of my favorite books.

Secondly, I’m sincerely envious that you haven’t read this book. You won’t be disappointed.  

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller retells the story of Achilles and Patroclus. The book focuses on their deep friendship and love during the Trojan War. It highlights their emotions and challenges, showing how strong love can be and the tough choices it brings. In this novel, love, destiny, and tragedy interweave against the backdrop of the Trojan War. 

And that is absolutely amazing. 

If you happen to read this book, I have an article here with a list of books similar to The Song of Achilles 🙂 Enjoy!

Books to read if you like Circe

Alright, enough praising The Song of Achilles (you already know who’s my favorite between these two). Let’s get down to business.

Read on to find a list of books similar to Circe by Madeline Miller.

The Silence of the Girls Pat Barkerbooks like Circe

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker is a powerful retelling of the Trojan War. 

Still, with a twist: it centers on the women captured and enslaved during the conflict. 

The story is primarily told through the eyes of Briseis, once a queen and now a slave to Achilles. 

Barker delves into these women’s inner lives, struggles, and resilience, often overlooked in traditional tales. 

The novel provides a voice for women in war, exploring survival, loss, and their personal tragedies.

Read The Silence of the Girls now

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes
A-Thousand-Ships

This is another retelling of the Trojan War from the perspectives of women involved. In this book, you’ll read personal stories of Andromache, Penelope, Clytemnestra, and many others, including Greek goddesses.

I have written a detailed review of this book here

This is an interesting book, and I highly recommend reading it.

Here is your link

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint 


JENIFER-SAINT

This is another book you should read if you liked Circe

This time, we’re reading the story of Ariadne and her sister Phaedra. 

Abandoned by Theseus after helping him escape the Labyrinth, Ariadne finds herself torn between gods and mortals. 

The novel delves into the women’s lives, overshadowed by legendary men and monstrous creatures, offering a fresh perspective on well-known myths. 

Ariadne is a captivating exploration of ancient tales, giving voice to the women who have long remained in the shadows. 

Buy it from Amazon or read the full review here.

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood 
MARGARET-ATWOOD

In this short book, we explore the story of Oddysey from Penelope’s perspective. 

While Odysseus journeys, Penelope shares her struggles, worries, and deepest thoughts.

I’ll be honest here — that is not my favorite book. I do not like Penelope in here. But if you like Margaret Atwood’s style — perhaps that’s one for you.

Check it out on Amazon or check out my review of Penelopiad.

Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin 
LAVANIA

Let’s continue our list of books like Circe with Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin. 

We know Lavinia as a silent figure from The Aeneid. However, in this story, the author gives Lavinia a voice so we can hear her thoughts and emotions.

Grab your copy here.

Norse Mythology Neil Gaiman
NEIL-GAIMAN

This may look like a weird choice for books similar to Circe. Still, if you, like me, enjoy mythology and everything connected to mythology, you’ll be game reading about Nordic mythology.

In this book, Neil Gaiman tells the stories of the gods we know: Odin, Thor, and Loki (but not only them!).

In addition, Neil Gaiman dwells on the creation of the Nine Worlds and Ragnarok. 

A fascinating book if you like myths in general.

Get it from Amazon

Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold by Stephen Fry
MYTHOS

Enjoy an unforgettable journey of learning about Greek myth in the most engaging and witty way possible — that’s how I can describe this book.

It’s intelligent, funny, and exciting — a fresh take on Greek myths you will love. 

I recommend this book if you’d like to learn more about Greek myths. 

This is not a fiction, but it’s definitely worth it. 

Buy this book

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker books to read if you liked Circe

Let’s add something unusual and fresh to our list of books like Circe.

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker is a mesmerizing blend of historical fiction, fantasy, and folklore. Set in 1899 New York, the novel intertwines the lives of two supernatural beings: a Golem named Chava and a Jinni named Ahmad. 

Their friendship forms the heart of this exciting fairy tale, making us think about important philosophical questions. 

Grab your copy here.

The King Must Die by Mary RenaultMARY-RENUALT

Let’s wrap up this list with another book reimagining ancient Greek myths.

This time, Mary Renault wants us to think: what was Theseus like? What was the nature of the man who slayed Minotaur?

Renault masterfully blends historical details with myth, painting a portrait of a hero before he becomes infamous. 

Buy this book on Amazon

Books Like Circe: FAQs

What books should I read if I liked Circe?

Here is a list of 10 books you should read if you liked Circe:

Can a 14-year-old read Circe?

Yes, but you should remember that the book contains violent scenes. It alludes to sex and rape, but these scenes are not graphic and not central, yet crucial for character development. 

Is Circe a feminist?

Yes, Circe is often described as a feminist, and I agree with this statement. 

Read this article to learn more about Circe being a feminist book.

Is Circe a femme fatale?

Circe is a powerful sorcerer who makes men forget about their homes, motives, and desires. She is definitely a prototype of a femme fatale

Is there LGBT in Circe? 

Not really. Try The Song of Achilles instead.

Is Circe better than The Song of Achilles?

Personally, I enjoyed The Song of Achilles more than Circe. But I don’t dare to say one is better 🙂 Read this article to learn more.

What are some other lists with great books like Circe?

Here are a few articles I can honestly recommend: 

11 Books to Read if You Loved Circe 

20 Bewitching Books To Read If You loved Circe by Madeline Miller

7 Books Like Circe for Fans of Greek Mythology

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Also Read