HomeBook Lists13 Authors Like Tana French Who Write Mind-Blowing Mysteries

13 Authors Like Tana French Who Write Mind-Blowing Mysteries

Looking for authors like Tana French?

No surprise here as Tana French is a well-known name in classic detective crime fiction.

She has made her name with her impeccable writing and beauty of predictable horror of crime mystery novels.

But what to do when you have read all her books? (If not, make sure to check our guide on how to read Tana French).

Here are some worth-reading crime fiction authors you might appreciate if you like Tana French.

  • Donato Karissi
  • Gillian Flynn
  • Stig Larsson
  • Ann Lambert
  • Alex Michaelides
  • Thomas Harris
  • Holly Seddon
  • Camilla Grebe
  • Caleb Carr
  • John Sandford
  • Louise Penny
  • Sarah Bailey
  • Hilary Davidson

Let us tell you about these authors, their writing styles, and popular books.

Top books by the authors like Tana French

The Girl In The Fog by Donato Karissi

The Girl In The Fog

Donato Karissi is a popular crime, mystery, and thriller novel writer. His most widely-known work is “The Girl In The Fog.” It is an interesting story of a missing girl Anan Lou.

Detective Vogel tries to solve the mystery around Anna’s disappearance. Was she killed? Or did she run away? Read the book to know for yourself!

Buy “The Girl In The Fog” on Amazon to enjoy a thrilling crime story.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

authors like tana french

Gillian Flynn has a blunt writing style and is not afraid to show a person’s disturbing attributes to the world. Her way of penning down all intricate details of any character hooks you till the end.

She debuted with her literary mystery “Sharp Objects”, and bragged two of Britain’s Dagger Awards.

The next novel “Dark Places”, became a New York Times bestseller and New Yorker Reviewers’ Favorite.

You may pick “Sharp Objects”, “Dark Places” or “Gone Girl”, but we recommend starting with the first one.

Read online or get “Sharp Objects” on Amazon.

The Millennium Trilogy by Stig Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Stig Larsson is an important name on the list of writers like Tana French.

Karl Stig-Erland “Stieg” Larsson was a Swedish writer and journalist.

He gained fame through the Millennium Trilogy.

The series consists of three crime novels, starting with “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”.

It revolves around the disappearance of Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families forty years ago.

His uncle hires a crusading Journalist Mikael Blomkvist to find the truth. We won’t spoil the end for you!

Order “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” to dive into Millenium Trilogy.

The Birds That Stay by Ann Lambert

The Birds That Stay

Ann Lambert is a Canadian playwright and author. She knows her craft around crime and murder mystery novels.

Her first book, “The Birds That Stay”, became a hit in no time. It was nominated for the Concordia Best First Book Prize.

It is a chilling mystery that revolves around the story of a strangled woman outside her house.

Find “The Birds That Stay” on Amazon and live the story.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

authors similar to tana french

We are sure you will love Alex Michaelides if you like Tana French. He is widely known for his work in thrillers, suspense, and mystery.

Alex’s first book is the Silent Patient, with the biggest-selling debut globally in 2019.

The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller about a woman’s violence against her husband.

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist obsessed with discovering the motive behind the act. Read to know how the story unfolds.

Get your hands on “The Silent Patient” on Amazon to experience the thrill.

And check out similar books afterward.

The Hannibal Lecter Series by Thomas Harris

Red Dragon

Thomas Harris is not a name unknown to mystery lovers. His first novel “Black Sunday” was published in 1975.

The Hannibal Lecter Series gained immense popularity globally.

It has four books: “Red Dragon”, “The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal”, and “Hannibal Rising”. Thomas Harris never disappoints readers looking for authors like Tana French.

Buy the first book in the Hannibal Lecter series “Red Dragon” on Amazon in one click.

The Hit List by Holly Seddon

The hit list

Holly Seddon is a vastly celebrated thriller and mystery writer. Her first book, “Try Not To Breathe,” became the best seller in the UK, Germany, Australia, and Ireland.

“The Hit List” is one of her most popular mystery novels that depicts the story of Marianne and her husband Greg, who died in an accident.

Marianne discovers that Greg has been accessing the dark web. The novel is fast-paced, and the main character uncovers the dark secrets of society that you will enjoy thoroughly.

Get your copy of “The Hit List on Amazon” and enjoy Holly’s flow of crime mystery.

The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe

The ice beneath her

Camilla is a Swedish mystery and thriller crime novel writer. She has received the Best Swedish Crime Novel Award and the Glass Key Award.

“The Ice Beneath Her” is one of her most renowned novels.

Homicide detectives Peter Lindgren and Manfred Olsson investigate the murder of a woman in Stockholm.

Reading the book gives you gradual details about the murder mystery and why Camilla is among the authors, similar to Tan French.

Buy “The Ice Beneath Her” by Camilla Grebe on Amazon before it goes out of stock!

Dr. Laszlo Kreizler Series by Caleb Carr

Alienist

Caleb is an American military historian and one of the most versatile crime fiction authors. He worked extensively in film, television, and the theater.

However, he is well-known for his crime fiction books, including the “Dr. Laszlo Kreizler Series”.

It is a set of three books: “The Alienist”, “The Angel of Darkness”, and “The Alienist at Armageddon”.

Start with the first one in the Dr. Laszlo Kreizler Series.

The Lucas Davenport Series by John Sandford

The rules of prey

John Rosewell Camp, known as John Sandford, is an American New York Times best-selling author. One of his most famous writings is the Lucas Davenport Series, acclaimed worldwide success.

The main character of this series is Lucas Davenport, a police detective and war games designer in Minneapolis. It is a long series with 32 books.

Get your hands on the beginning of The Lucas Davenport Series “The Rules Of Prey” on Amazon to indulge in an exciting detective story.

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache by Louise Penny

Still Life

Louise Penny is a vital name among authors like Tana French. She is the author of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache novels.

It comprises 18 books that showcase the story of Chief Inspector Armand finding long-buried secrets.

It is another lengthy series for people who love to indulge in a story completely.

Buy “Still Life”, the first one in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series by Louise Penny on Amazon.

The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey

The Dark Lake

Sarah Bailey is among the most loved authors similar to Tana French.

The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey is a must-read, followed by two more books in the Gemma Woodstock series.

The main character Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock, finds clues to her high school classmate Rosalind Ryan’s murder. Read the trilogy to discover who the murderer is.

Buy your copy of “The Dark Lake” by Sarah Baily on Amazon today!

One Small Sacrifice by Hillary DavidsonOne Small Sacrifice

Hillary Davidson is an American and Canadian novelist and journalist. She is known as the master of plot twists!

Let’s say no further and tell you which book to read. “One Small Sacrifice” is one of the best writings by Hillary and depicts her expertise in crime and mystery fiction.

Buy your copy of “One Small Sacrifice” on Amazon too see how the story unveils.

The Bottom Line

If you like Tana French and looking for others authors like Tana French, this list is all you need.

All the above-mentioned writers are experts in their craft and understand the mystery flow in crime fiction.

Whether you pick “Gone Girl”, “The Silent Patient”, “The Dark Lake”, or any other, we are sure you won’t be disappointed.

Do you know other books similar in style to Tana French?

Let us know in the comments.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Also Read

Popular Posts